Error code 0x66A

scolley 00:27 23 Aug 2007

Hi could any kind person help a complete novice how to get rid of a yellow shield in my start bar at the bottom of my PC. it as some thing to do with Microsoft .Net Framework Version 1.1 service pack 1(KB928366) ITS ASKING ME OR TELLING ME THERE ARE UPDATES BUT EVERY TIME I CLICK ON IT, THIS WILL NOT IN STALL YET IN MY CONTROL PANEL IT TELLS ME I ALREADY HAVE IT?????

This as been there now for at least 6weeks i was hopeing it would solve it self as its to do with Microsoft but no, if any one can tell how to sort this i will appriciate the help, but i do need it in lay mans terms sorry, not to PC, savvy.
Regards
Scolley

brundle 00:32 23 Aug 2007

One of the solutions here definitely works, there appears to be 2 or 3 different solutions.

click here

Basically, you need to remove all Net Framework entries from Add/Remove Programs, download NF1.1, and the NF1.1 patch, install and keep the installation files until you have attempted the MS update again and completed it successfully. It seems to require the presence of one of the .msi files from the aforementioned products, they have usually been deleted on most user's PCs since those files and updates aren't recent.

scolley 13:46 23 Aug 2007

cheers brundle
tried all that but am not sure i got it right, as i say im not PC. savvy,so as any one a simple way to solve this its driving me mad, ????

birdface 18:38 23 Aug 2007

Googled.click here

birdface 18:40 23 Aug 2007

You could try this.click here

skidzy 19:28 23 Aug 2007

Uninstall all versions of NetFramework from Add and remove programs.

Download and install Version 2.0 click here

Then leave the MS updates to download and install (if you have MS configured to auto update

),hopefully this will cure your problem.

scolley 03:32 24 Aug 2007

skidzy i tried uninstalling all the netframework but its telling me i cant because its not installed but its there in my control panel????