Editing existing website

manrow 14:58 02 Jul 2008

I am coming across lots of problems trying to edit an existing website.

I am trying to use FrontPage, but it has been sugested that the site was built using DreamWeaver and this may be causing the conflict.

So the question is can an existing site be edited by any of the available software systems or do you need to know what created it in the first place and use the same?

Kemistri 16:07 02 Jul 2008

A qualified "yes and no" is the answer to that.

Many WYSIWYG apps can import complete sites via FTP or HTTP, but the results may not always be perfect. For example, I am aware of that older versions of Net Objects Fusion were described as weak at site import. I have no first-hand experience of FP at all, so I do not know how reliable its imports are. DW is likely to be better, I suppose, but I have never used that for imports. I prefer to hand code and certainly don't use WYSIWYG apps to edit existing sites.

Taran 16:37 02 Jul 2008

FrontPage 2003 and Dreamweaver can co-exist perfectly for site development.

Earlier versions of FrontPage were not meant to interact with Dreamweaver sites, although it's fair to say that you can edit a site in any editor as long as you know how.

Your problem could be that you may be trying to use features that require the FrontPage server extensions, or if you are using an earlier version of FrontPage it could be shoving lots of unnecessary code in and mangling any Dreamweaver behaviours.

There are loads of ways in which this could fail and lots of ways in which it can work perfectly.

A bit more detail of the software versions and the kinds of problems you are seeing would help.

Forum Editor 19:17 03 Jul 2008

into FrontPage?

Import the site, and then save it to your hard drive as a FrontPage site - you'll be prompted to allow FP to create a special folder for it.