Echolife Router problems

Dalmation 17:50 06 Sep 2007

Having signed up to TalkTalk 3 I have been having trouble with router. It does not link to my laptop and the only way I can access the internet is through Wireless Network connection.
It is secured but if I leave it on permanently, can other people access it. I ask this as when I connect after disabling it, I do not seem to need to put in the security key every time. I did pay £25 to the Geeks for help and that help lasted 9 days!
Hope you are able to help - I am a complete novice so simple terms would be appreciated.
Dalmation

dan* 18:01 06 Sep 2007

" It is secured but if I leave it on permanently, can other people access it. "

No. Unless they have the code.

" I do not seem to need to put in the security key every time. "

You only need to enter the code in once on each computer. the computer is then paired with the router and will connect automatically.

The security side of things look fine.

As to linking your laptop, do you want it to be wired to the router? If you do, turn off the WiFi signal and disable the WiFi network in control panel.

Dalmation 10:56 07 Sep 2007

Thanks Dan,

I have disabled the WiFi network in control panel and turned off the WiFi signal but to no avail.
I now notice that the Internet light on the router is on permanently - can you tell me why this is?
Dalmation

dan* 13:42 07 Sep 2007

" I now notice that the Internet light on the router is on permanently "

That is because the router is always connected to your internet provider. hence the term " always on"

It's just when you click on the internet icon on your computer that you open the valve and let the internet streaming from the waiting router to your computer.

just looking back to the laptop and using the WiFi signal, do you not find that it would be more convenient to use it wireless than having a lead running to your router? Most find that having a laptop running a wireless internet connection to be a boon.