Dump Your E-mail address to avoid Spam?

Habsish 19:17 09 Nov 2006

I have an e-mail address I have been using for about 9 years.

I have been reasonably careful how I use it but it is included in my own website that is used for business plus I use it for my personal e-mails.

Probably have a dump of about 50 odd spams a day.

My ISP has provided various filters, which has helped (a case where a small ISP, I have used for years, provides good helpful and advisory tech support to the extent I know the personalities who I infrequently contact. In addition my Spam Software McAfee clears many others although they seem to struggle with the changes.

I am considering changing my e-mail address. Any thoughts on how long my situation is going to be Spam free or at least substantially reduced?

Advice please.

Kind regards

H

sean-278262 19:30 09 Nov 2006

about 5 -6 weeks tops. However most people who use the no spam method of email addresses.

myemail @at something dot. com and a comment to say appologies for the use of the non standard method. Many variations exsist on that form so anything at all. Others include using an image file to show the address but this is less favoured as it means people have to remember the address rather than the copy and paste they can do with text.

Alternative options you can have include using 2 addresses 1 as your private main one. And the other the one you give on your website and non trusted sources. Then add both to outlook and remove the spam account one when spam starts to become annoying and load a new one in its place.

radi8or 20:00 09 Nov 2006

Habsish,

Give this a try click here

Regards Bob

Input Overload 21:19 09 Nov 2006

I've been with Zen over 2 years and get 1 or 2 spam's a week.

spiker 23:36 09 Nov 2006

Do a Google search for your email address and then get it removed from every site that has published it.