Dual-boot, XP/PCLinux issues

Taterman 08:58 26 Apr 2008

Hi guys,

I've been scouring forums for a few days but I am still having problems booting to a new install of PCLinux so I thought I would post the issue here. Keep in mind I'm a complete Linux noob but trying to learn. Here's the setup:

2 HDD's: Main is a SATA drive , second is and IDE.

Windows is installed on the SATA drive and for the Linux install I made 4 partitions.
On the IDE drive is /root (hdd6), swap (hdd5) and /home (hdd8)
On the SATA drive is /boot (sda7)

The install seemed to go well and I installed grub on the /root on the IDE drive.
After this I ran bootloader and added PCLinux 2007 to the boot.ini

I rebooted without the linux disc in and the boot option menu came with the choices being XP Home or PCLinux 2007. XP loads fine if selected but if I pick Linux the screen goes black for a second and them right back to the boot menu. XP is the only one that works though I can boot to the Linux live CD if needed.
I hope someone can help, I've spent a few days on this already and I'm determined to make it work right.

After running boatloader, this is my boot.ini

[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /fastdetect
C:\BootPart\bootlinx.bin="PCLinuxOS 2007"

Thanks in advance

alan2273 10:07 26 Apr 2008

I dual boot Linux & XP and it boots of GRUB, there is no entry for Linux in the Boot.INI file.
I cannot advise you as I have two IDE drives.
You would be better of posting your question on the PCLinux OS forum.
click here

Jollyjohn 10:10 26 Apr 2008

Hi
i would use the Linux bootloader to boot WXP. When you get to the point in the installation of Linux there is an option of where to install the bootloader, choose mbr (which will overwrite your current mbr) but will give you the option to boot XP instead of Linux.

ambra4 13:43 26 Apr 2008