doing backups with Roxio take 2

gudda96 08:48 24 May 2003

has anyone experience in doing backup of hard drive using roxio, if so, would appreciate some advice

anchor 09:10 24 May 2003

I believe that Take 2 was a predecessor to GoBack from Roxio.

By itself, it won`t do a backup of your hard drive; you would need something like Norton Ghost or Drive Image.

This page will give you more information:

click here

gudda96 12:12 24 May 2003

Hi Anchor

Click here did not take me anywhere.

When Creator is opened, it does say it backs up HDD, hence the reason for 2 disks.??

cream. 12:24 24 May 2003

All though I have no experience with using take 2. I have noticed when you get the latest update from the Roxio site that take 2 is deleted from the system. Could it be that it is not a very good programme?

anchor 12:31 24 May 2003

Odd, the link still works for me; try this:

click here

Wait a few seconds for the correct page to load.

Pauper 12:56 24 May 2003

gudda96, yes I have used take 2 in the past with win98 before upgrading to xp, it will take an image of your hd from which you can re-install the full contents using the boot floppy created during the process. The only issue I can recall is that it did not want to spread the image over multiple cd's, although I do not know if this was a problem perculiar to me, I did get around this by directing it to create the image on a slave hd. The image is still there in the unlikely event that I should need it, it is called MyBackup.tk2 by default and is a little over 1.5Gb in size.

Pauper 13:02 24 May 2003

the village idiot, take2 is no longer available as it does not function under win xp which is why I now use drive image 2002.

gudda96 16:51 24 May 2003

Hi Anchor

Managed this time, its the Roxio site yeh? I have it in my favorites.

It seemed to be all about Go Back and I am afraid, a little above my head.