Does router reset go back to original firmware?

  keewaa 17:02 30 Nov 2005
Locked

I have updated the firmware on my router since buying it ... If you press and hold the reset button on a router to reset it back to factory settings, will it also reset the firware back to the factory version, or leave it at the updated version.

  uisquebeathus 17:15 30 Nov 2005

the reset button will remove any current settings that you have put in manually and leave the router with the basic rom data that was the last installed,
For example my own router has been updated to version 1015 from 1014 a reset will put 1015 in situe the veraion 1014 or earlier has been deleted from the chip after all it is a little guy.
a few new professional routers have larger chips for obvious reasons, security , data protection etc

This thread is now locked and can not be replied to.

Elsewhere on IDG sites

OnePlus 5 review

See the work of famous artists playing with toys

iPad Pro 10.5in (2017) review

Comment faire une capture d’écran sur un Mac ?