Does AVG slow PC down?

brindly 17:29 09 Sep 2010

It seems ever since I installed AVG 8.5 three pc users licence my computer has got slower. Each morning when I bootup it takes some 5 or six minuted before I am able to use the pc, the light on the computer keeps clicking away and makes it difficult to load a program to start using it. This never happened when I used McAfee.

Daiol 17:39 09 Sep 2010

Yes I think so,I went onto Avast thats free.PC lot better try it nothing to lose.

birdface 17:47 09 Sep 2010

Maybe update it to version 9 version 10 due out soon.
When downloading it download it without the link scanner and AVG toolbar.

If fed up with it try MSE instead.

Daiol 20:13 09 Sep 2010

Have a look here
click here

northumbria61 20:29 09 Sep 2010

I have been using AVG for 8+ years now without any problems on 3 computers. If it is taking 5 to 6 minutes before you can use your computer I think you have far bigger problems than AVG. I suggest you look at what is actually starting when you boot up, maybe do a little maintenance and "clean" your system. Also ask your self "How long is it since I did a defrag ?" All these things point to slow startup. You should also be running AVG 9.0 now (latest)

northumbria61 20:32 09 Sep 2010

* Note - Your AVG needs to load at startup but make sure it is not scheduled to SCAN - you can choose a "quiet" time to scan *

birdface 20:45 09 Sep 2010

Do you have any other security programs on your computer like Malwarebytes if so give them a run as AVG will not stop everything.

birdface 20:47 09 Sep 2010

[This never happened when I used McAfee.]

Did you use the proper McAfee removal tool to remove it or did you just remove it from add remove.

Audio~~Chip 21:15 09 Sep 2010