Do you use linux

daytimers82 08:54 12 Aug 2010

Hello everyone

do any of you use Linux, how do you get hold of it and which Linux software is good for a desktop, I'm a complete novice.

A friend from work recommended Linux before he moved on. I didn't get the chance to to find out more as he has gone to the states.

daytimers82 08:56 12 Aug 2010

I forget to mention I'm using windows xp should I advance to windows 7 which is expensive for my budget or move onto something cheaper such as Linux.

ashdav 09:51 12 Aug 2010

I've got PCLOS on one of my computers.click here
It's the most like Windows as far as I know so a good starting point if you're trying it for the first time.
You can also run it as a live cd which means it doesn't install so you can check if all your hardware works before you install it.
Download the full version at the bottom of the page and burn it as an ISO image to a cd then boot from it.
Have fun.

mgmcc 10:03 12 Aug 2010

If you are interested in Linux, download something like "Ubuntu" click here burn it to a CD and then run it directly from the CD. If you decide to use it permanently, you can then install it in the PC.

Despite what Linux enthusiasts may say, it is *NOT* as user-friendly as Windows and you cannot install Windows programs in it. However, most Linux "distros" (as they're called) do include a range of basic programs - Email, Web browser, Open Office (compatible with Microsoft Office applications) etc.

I'm reasonably computer literate and I've tried Linux numerous times, but I've never managed to persevere with it.

Jollyjohn 12:44 12 Aug 2010

I have migrated to Linux Mint. I use Mint 5 but the most recent is Mint 9.
Mint will run from a live cd and can be installed along side windows giving a dual boot system.
I have a separate partition for all my data and both WXP and Linux can access it.

tullie 12:54 12 Aug 2010