Do these PC Parts look okay for a new gaming rig?

MJC8917 16:27 15 Jun 2012

Hi guys,

I'm putting together my first gaming PC and I'd like some feedback on the parts that I've selected. I've never built a PC myself before, so apologies if I'm not very up to speed. The PC will be used primarily for gaming, 3d modelling/sculpting and rendering.

Here are the components that I've selected.

Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series Mid Tower Case

CPU: Intel CPU Core i7 2600K Unlocked Sandy Bridge Quad Core Processor

Motherboard: Asus MAXIMUS V GENE Intel Z77 Socket 1155 Ivybridge Ready Motherboard

Memory: Corsair Memory Vengeance Black 8GB DDR3 1600 MHz CAS 9 XMP Dual Channel Desktop

Graphics Card: EVGA GTX 670 FTW NVIDIA Graphics Card - 2GB

Storage: 1TB Hitachi Deskstar 7K1000.D SATA III - 6Gb/s Hard Drive - HDD

Disc Drive: Sony Optical DVD-ROM, DDU1681S-0B, SATA, OEM

Power Supply: Corsair Enthusiast TX V2 CMPSU-750TXV2UK 750W Power Supply (PSU)

Processor Cooling: Corsair H80 Hydro Series High Performance CPU Cooler

SSD: 240GB SSD Corsair Force Series 3 Series SATA III - 6Gb/s Solid State Drive

KRONOS the First 16:36 15 Jun 2012

Do not forget to add a tube of thermal paste to your list.

You could certainly drop your PSU if you were looking to save a few quid. Apart from that a very nice list of components.

MJC8917 16:42 15 Jun 2012

Ah knew I'd forget something! Thanks Chronos :)

retep888™ 17:35 15 Jun 2012

Just a few questions:

1. Why stick with the SandyBridge when you can have the IvyBridge?

2. A micro Atx motherboard in a biggish tower? I know the Gene is good but lack of connection slot & space is cramp ,you might have problem fitting big card in because the Rams might be in the place.

3. Why have just an optical dvd-rom when you can have a dvd-rw for roughly the same money?