Do I need a router for wi-fi

skitso 21:44 22 Nov 2007

Hi all,
I am new to all this computer stuff. I recently bought an Acer 5720 (product code LX.AHE0X.161)and it has wi-fi.
Do I need to buy some sort of equipment to access the internet or is this what the wi-fi does? Have tried connecting and it comes up saying connected but I cannot get an internet page. Getting Windows cannot display. I am using friends pc to write to you.
Would much appreciate any help.
Skitso

skitso 22:54 22 Nov 2007

Please help,

I have already posted. I am not impatient just annoyed i cant get this thing to work.
How do I use the wifi, do i need any other equipment other than the laptop?

Sorry

Tim1964 23:37 22 Nov 2007

Do you have an account with an ISP, either BB or dial up????

You will need a wireless router with a modem in it (these can be connected by ethernet cable also)unless the ISP is Virgin then you will need a wireless router to connect to their supplied modem.

As the laptop is saying "it's connected...." this could be the wireless card is 'seeing' a neighbours WIFI connection which you should not be able to connect to unless this is an unsecured connection.

Could you post more details of the ISP and what modem or modem/router they have supplied?

skitso 00:09 23 Nov 2007

Thanks Tim,

I have no ISP or modem or router. Does this mean I have to get internet installed in my home and then what would I need to get wireless connection? Told you I knew nothing, I though wi-fi meant you could just connect anywhere. Silly me

Skitso

Acx 00:22 23 Nov 2007

You need a wifi router connected to your phone line, you then get your PC to connect (wirelessly)to your router.

If you have Sky and a phone line they provide a router and wireless broadband.

Graham. 10:19 25 Nov 2007

Out and about, you can use 'Hotspots' to connect to the internet click here

In most places you can buy time, or you can sign up and open an account.

Forum Editor 10:28 25 Nov 2007