DIY v. professional services

Robert-272781 11:50 30 Jul 2006

Can anyone help?

My squash club would like a simple website that contains about 6 sections and allows new squash leagues to be downloaded approx. every 8 weeks. It would also be nice to have space to display some pictures.

Is this an easy DIY job (I have no experience yet) or is the professional quote of £750 that we have good value?

If we went the DIY route we could use someone like Pipex who provide pages but don't say if they allow files to be downloaded. Would we need to have it hosted instead of using templates?

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks

Bob

Forum Editor 12:25 30 Jul 2006

"....allows new squash leagues to be downloaded approx. every 8 weeks" Do you mean that members can download files from the site, or do you really mean that new tables will be uploaded?

I ask, because it makes a big difference. If files are going to be put on the server for download nothing could be easier, but if files have to be uloaded by members it gets a whole lot more complicated. I am in the process of designing a site for a tennis league, and in that case they want to be able to allow club officials to enter league match results on a weekly basis. This involves a good deal more work on my part, and is consequently more expensive from a design point of view.

If you simply want to upload files to the server for members to download it's an easy DIY job. You'll obviously have to experiment with whatever software you decide on, but we're here to help when you get stuck.

I'm confused by your last question "Would we need to have it hosted instead of using templates?"