Dividing a hard drive

loopyloo 20:04 11 Nov 2009

I have just purchased a new laptop and I would like to divide the hardrive into 2 for a C drive and D drive. I have never done this before as all my other laptops are usually divided allready.
Is this an easy job and what do I need to do. I am running Windows 7 and its an Acer 5738 model.

Technotiger 20:28 11 Nov 2009

You need this click here to partition your drive. I use a different paid-for program which is very similar, they are not difficult to use, nor do they cause you to lose any of your programs or settings etc.

JayDay 20:36 11 Nov 2009

I too would recommend EASEUS Partition Master Home Edition. Used it this afternoon on my daughters laptop. Very easy to use.

GaT7 21:15 11 Nov 2009

What's the size of your drive? I would recommend a minimum of 40Gb for the OS partition, so it doesn't get 'cramped', which could lead to a slowdown. One can get away with a 15-20Gb partition with XP. G

woodchip 21:21 11 Nov 2009

If you only have a Restore disc for the Laptop, its best left as it is. As the Restore Disc will no longer work. Either that or use Acronis to Create Images to a External Drive so you can restore it if it all goes Pear Shaped

loopyloo 22:13 11 Nov 2009

There is a hidden partition which has a restore feature and also I have made restore disks. If I partition the hardrive will I lose the hidden partition? The size of the harddrive is 200Gb.

Technotiger 22:22 11 Nov 2009

It is a long time since I did partitioning myself, but I am pretty sure you will not lose the hidden partition, nor anything else.

woodchip 22:55 11 Nov 2009

Yes your Restore disc's will not work after you change the drive. You need Acronis before you do anything and a External USB drive to create a Image og the Laptop Drive to the External Drive. Also Check the Image works before changing Partitions

Migwell 23:09 11 Nov 2009