diskless recovery

User-606B0643-FD10-4834-B66D22F09D5D5ABB 19:00 18 Jun 2008

hey there. i have just purchased a new laptop, hp g6062ea. it does not come with a recovery cd, but has its own partition on the hard drive with the recovery files. it recommends i make my own disk as soon as, but if i do that, can i erase the files from the partition on my hd? my gripe is that it was advertised as 120gb hd, when 11.05gb is taken up with these files!!!! thats a fair amount of space! what is the best thing i can do? im running vista. i only set it up today, so im new to this OS. also, can i delete all the hp rubbish off it? im sure it slows my start up down. thanks guys.

jack 20:18 18 Jun 2008

That is make a disk or set of disks[ or install a DVD burner to reduce the number of disks]
But wait a while until you get more opinions on this subject.

johndrew 20:24 18 Jun 2008

You should be able to make a recovery CD/DVD using the creation tool provided. This should allow you to take the laptop back to the condition it was delivered by HP. However, you would lose all other data you had put onto the laptop yourself and all updates.

Having done this there should be instructions in the manual (installed on the HDD) to recover the partition space. But you would no longer have the ability to create a new backup CD/DVD should you lose or damage that made.

I would suggest you create the CD/DVD, and invest in an external drive and a copy of Acronis True Image or similar. With these you could ensure all your data and the OS were safely backed up. In the event of a drive failure or corruption, you would then have the ability to recover everything on the laptop very quickly.

Pamy 22:29 18 Jun 2008

pfoster23681, I would make the disk as instructed, and leave well alone with the partition for now. As for the HP rubbish, it depends just what it is.

grey george 22:50 18 Jun 2008