Did you buy or build your pc (or both)?

I. T. Mastermind 01:45 20 May 2007

Well let me start by saying this thread is just for general interest and while i'm sure this has been covered in the past (no posting of other related threads please) there are alot of new members on this forum and i'm just curious as to what the attitude is like nowadays. Personally I've been building computers for nearly ten years now and have built more that I can possibly remember. My main reason for building them is I like to break down the cost into small chunks and its great fun for me. So my question is what do you people do buy or build? (or perhaps both if you've got more than 1 pc)

MAJ 02:12 20 May 2007

Perhaps you might be better posting this in the Speakers' Corner forum click here as this is the Helproom forum, I. T. Mastermind.

rdave13 07:04 20 May 2007

On my fourth PC, all bought, and don't have time to build them as I'm here most of the time.

sunny staines 08:00 20 May 2007

built a few now, some no problems others been jinxed with minor problems, had no major problems with a self build.

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 09:54 20 May 2007

Built loads over the years for myself and other people.

Only problems have been self inflicted, like forgetting to connect 4 pin power cable, or connection not pressed home far enough.

However I bought my last PC (Medion) as I couldn't source the parts or sofware as cheaply.

Gongoozler 09:58 20 May 2007

Bought in 1995 and progressive upgrades since then. None of the original bits for about 5 years.

skidzy 10:14 20 May 2007

After a power surge last year possibly due to a thunderstorm at that time,my mobo blew as did the psu.
I spend a lot of time here at PCA and had read enough threads to tackle rebuilding this system.

This i did with a bit of help from forum members,now the pc sits in one of boys bedroom and been absolutely fine to date.

The only parts that are original are the case and harddrive with the os preinstalled.