Dial up dialogue box

Nobleken 11:02 15 Oct 2004

I am a total novice who has just converted to broadband via cable. But when I am in my email account in Outlook Express and try to send mail the dialogue box offering the dial up service appears. Is there something I need to disable? Or something else? Please assume you are talking to an idiot. Thanks a lot.

Noelg23 15:04 15 Oct 2004

yes you need to get rid of the connection for your dial up....email me with the problem and I will reaply back with a step by step guide on how to get rid of it...dont worry its not as hard as you think it is...

Nobleken 15:36 15 Oct 2004

Thanks for that. Outlook Express opens OK but when I try to send an email I get that grey dialogue box I used to get when trying to launch OE on dial up asking me which connection I want to connect to. I click cancel - 'cos I don't really know what I'm doing - and the box goes away, but I'm not sure if the email has been sent. And when I go to close OE down I get the box saying you have unsent items, would you like to send them now? I don't even know what they are but would be happy to lose them if I could sort out the main issue, preventing that blinking dial up box returning. Any advice gratefully received.

Border View 15:40 15 Oct 2004

Know what you mean, I have exactly the same problem. To get around it I launch speedtouch first and then open OE. In addition I dont have the dial up connection modem connected so there is no way I can connect to Lineone. I am now with broadband Pipex.

Would be interested to find out how the Dial Up Box for Lineone can be disabled though.

woodchip 15:48 15 Oct 2004

double click my computer double click dial-up networking right click your old isp and delete

Border View 15:49 15 Oct 2004

Thanks woodchip

woodchip 15:57 15 Oct 2004

My Pleasure, don't forget if you want to use fax\software you will have to have a normal Dial-Up account and modem connected

Jackcoms 16:24 15 Oct 2004

woodchip