DESKTOP or LAPTOP??

aldocraig 14:46 16 Feb 2007

Hi

I am looking for a new computer and i am split between a laptop and a desktop. I am a designer and regularly run 3D graphic pakages. Can anyone advise me which is best and what sort of spec i should look for?

Cheers

GANDALF <|:-)> 15:04 16 Feb 2007

If you are a designer you need to be looking at 22/24" widescreen, rotatable monitors which means a desktop.

G

Belatucadrus 15:30 16 Feb 2007

Also find the home page of the graphic packages you run and have a look at the system requirements. Some of them are very RAM hungry indeed.

Totally-braindead 15:39 16 Feb 2007

And further to Belatucadrus point about checking the program requirements take them with a pinch of salt. The program will run with the minimum requirements they state but may run so slowly that you would find the waiting unacceptable. EG if the program says minimum 512mb RAM go for double that or more, if it says 1500 mhz processor go for at least a 2500.
Take what they say it needs and add a good bit more.

terryf 15:47 16 Feb 2007

Think about the smaller keyboard and the touch-pad on a laptop. Also realize that it is difficult if not impossible to hardware upgrade a laptop. Because laptop components are specialized and PC parts are made by the million, pound for pound, you get more 'bangs per buck' with a PC. The only time I would recommend a pc for a designer is if you have a need to make presentations to customers on their site or if like my son, you are invited to Moscow to discuss a design project and even then he uses a PC in the office for his design work.

Belatucadrus 15:48 16 Feb 2007