Cutting out

Dark Mantis 08:50 23 Mar 2010

Hello,
I have just built a i7 920/Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD7/Corsair Dominator DDR3 3x 2Gb sticks/Sapphire 4890 2Gb graphics card/Zalman 750 Heatpipe PSU. I have tried a 256Gb Corsair SSD and a SATA hard drive.
Every time I try and install Windows 7 I get so far and then the computer just cuts out (usually reboots) I have plenty of cooling and the processor is running around 45degrees with stock cooler ( I am going to watercool as soon as stable). Any ideas welcome.
Dark Mantis

gengiscant 10:53 23 Mar 2010

As a builder myself, this is the fun part getting your build to work.
My last build completed last November gave me all sorts of problems, one similar to yours. Eventually I tracked it down to a compatibility issue with the ram. Have you checked the QVL here,
click here
Have you run memtest?
I expect you have done both of my suggestions, so post if you have and we can look elsewhere.

retep888 13:59 23 Mar 2010

If there are 2x 4pins 12V ATX on the motherboard, you have to connect up both.

And what colour of RAM slot did you put in, sometimes the Mobo is fussy about it, in your case it should be the white instead of the blue slots.

Dark Mantis 16:11 23 Mar 2010

Well I 've just put it all back together after re-doing all the wiring and no difference!

retep888 all the cables are attached(triple checked!) and the ram modules are in the white slots(1,3&5). The bios picked up the memories' XMP and loaded that quite happily. I tried some other Corsair DDR3 1333 but they didn't make any difference either. Running the very latest bios now.