CSS help, please (and opinions on first website)

slightlymad 04:04 26 Jan 2006

An amateur, here, whose website has been tweaked with the help of coding from Rachel Andrews' CSS Anthology, and Dreamweaver 8.

It actually worked fine in its former basic state, but now that I've added a footer it's behaving erratically... no problems in Firefox but in IE the scrollbars appear even the the complete content is clearly in view.

And I'm pretty sure that there is a more correct coding for positioning the image, but it was the only way that I could think of to achieve the placement that I wanted. (I told you that I was an amateur...)

Am I going to have to start over with a completely different layout?!

I'd also welcome any comments/suggestions/criticism about the design of the site.

Thanks,

Marie

slightlymad 04:05 26 Jan 2006

My website:

click here

slightlymad 11:48 26 Jan 2006

Good advice, John - thank you. I will definitely increase the contrast for the text, which I had misgivings about anyway, accessibility-wise.

I used a Dreamweaver command to create the gallery, and yes, the default hyperlink states are niggling me. I've no problem with altering the coding, but as far as I can see it would mean adding styles to each of the pages individually - unless there's a way of applying a single stylesheet to all 60? (This was going to be my next question.)

Having said that, I need to provide alt tags for each of the images, so I might as well paste styles into each of the pages. (I'd still like to know if there's another way, though...)

Thanks for your help.

Marie

beynac 12:09 26 Jan 2006

You can apply a single stylesheet to all 60 pages. If you do it this way, and want to change something, you will only have to make one change instead of sixty.

slightlymad 12:47 26 Jan 2006

beynac - what I should have said, is that I could paste the stylesheet link into each page (not the styles themselves).