creating a form in NOF - in plain English!

mco 20:14 05 Jul 2006

I've never done a form in NOF before. All I need is a smallish and simple form on a page. It should say 'sign our petition' then have space for name , email and address - to be sent back to webmaster. Try as I might I can't understand the terminology used - could anyone (adeh? barryoneoff?) just tell me in simple English the process? I have read the help files, honestly!

ade.h 20:37 05 Jul 2006

Hi mco.

Never done a form in NOF? Oh, don't worry. Easy (must be if I can do it...)

Form layouts are tricky to get aligned cleanly without using either a table or placing the form objects in text boxes.

Make sure first of all that the form toolbar is selected from the View menu (place it next to the standard toolbar).

Next, tick the "layout is a form" box on the pallette.

You can use a table for best control, or just use the text boxes that you need for the labels.

Make a text box with the name of your first form field in it, such as First Name. Now make a single line form field and drop it into the texk box; it will now be below the text, as long as your text box is not too long.

Go to the properties pallette for the form field; give it a name that represents its content, such as firstname. Note the lowercase and lack of spaces. Give it a visible and maximum size.

Repeat for your other fields. I would suggest First Name, Surname, E-mail Address, House number, and so on.

Next, add a submit button. Ignore the form handler on the NOF tools menu. Your submit button will need an action in its properties pallette; this will be the name of your PHP file, which I can help you to code later on. In fact, once you have your form arranged, tell me the names of each field and I'll code it for you.

mco 20:52 05 Jul 2006