CPU fail & Getting old hard drives into new PC

blueski 01:28 02 Aug 2007

Hi all. I have a couple of computer problems - would really any appreciate any quick advice/suggestions. Here's the story so far:

A few nights ago I was using my desktop PC (bought a couple of years ago) when it suddenly froze completely (couldn't even bring up Process Manager). I unplugged and tried to reboot but got the 'System Failed CPU test' message and a blank screen. Tried a few things inc. different power cables and disconnecting the motherboard power cable, re-attaching and then turning on again but no joy. I am pretty sure the CPU on the mobo has overclocked/gone kaput based on what I've read by googling but I have not attempted reset of CMOS as not very confident on this. I'm not very good with motherboards/CPUs at all and had been planning to get a new PC anyway. The heat sink fan and capacitors all seem fine btw - the motheboard looks pretty clean after a couple of years use from that I can tell tho it was never 100% reliable (e.g. I had to install a new soundcard and USB card because the built in ones didn't seem to work properly)

Problem is I have GBs of project work, docs, photos, music etc. on the hard drives NOT backed up- foolish of course. I have lots of old backups, just nothing that recent. You know how it is.

So I URGENTLY need to get the data from the hard drives into a new system somehow.

If I buy a new PC tomorrow (which is my plan) do you think I'll be able to remove the hard drive on the new PC before even turning it on and replacing it with the master HD on my current PC without any problems? It would only be temporary as I know it could slow down the new machine. But I'm worried the old drive wouldn't be compatable with the new motherboard (how likely is this do you think?) and there is also the IDE vs SATA issue - but I will make sure any new PC I buy can accommodate IDE drives at least.