Counties and Cities

ArrGee 21:38 18 Mar 2007

Hi all, I am a complete newbie when it comes to web site building, and perhaps my first attempt is a tad too much.

This morning I downloaded a trial of Antenna Web Studio, which looked quite good at first. Still lots to learn.

Perhaps I should stop now and look at a different package so any suggestions would be appreciated.

In the initial stage, I want to create a site with three drop down menus. Each drop down has a list of counties in England, Scotland and Wales. Once the user selects a county, I want a new drop down to open up with a list of cities and towns within that county.

At present, I am trawling the net for lists of Counties, towns and cities and having to reformat for Web Studio (very very tedious process!).

I know this is quite a task for a newbie, but I want to be a fully fledged web master within around the next year.

So:
1. Should I start with a different application?

2. Is there anywhere I can get a list of counties and cities to just 'dump' into a web application?

3. How do I link the counties drop-down to open a towns-and-cities drop down?

Any help at all is very much appreciated.

silverous 11:03 19 Mar 2007

This any good for counties/towns?

click here

(See first link on the page).

I would say you need to code up the drop down lists in javascript, this sounds like the sort of thing:

click here

Let me know if you need more help.

In terms of tool - use whatever you are most comfortable with, you can always plug any code in afterwards.

ArrGee 20:50 19 Mar 2007

Thanks for the info silverous.

The counties and towns link looks good, but still not quite what I'm looking for, as the list is not broken down into separate towns and counties.

Basically, I need two seprate batch files, one for towns and the other counties. Your link provides a very good cross comparison. If I can incorporate it into the guts of a website somehow, I'll give it a try.