Connection probs to certain sites only

fixitnow 12:05 09 Apr 2008

I have given a fully working wireless network to my neighbour. He can only access certain sites on all 3 computers although all sites were available in my house. I was Tiscali he AOL so phoned and they say no probs there. Unavailable sites include Microsoft Update, Live Messenger and internet Barclays banking although the Barclays home page is available. The wireless modem router is Belkin and all 3 comps are running XP Home. My brand new laptop running Vista has the same problem on their network. Is there a permissions I'm missing in the modem or network set up? I'm no expert but I've tried all I know!!! Help greatly appreciated

DieSse 12:40 09 Apr 2008

See this - AOL problems solved by an AOL update

click here

Stuartli 12:50 09 Apr 2008

You probably need to set your MTU figure to 1432 in your router configuration.

If it is higher than this figure, you can have problems downloading some websites and/or sending e-mails with attachments (this applies both to AOL and TalkTalk).

Miros 13:34 09 Apr 2008

Setting MTU size is a process of trial-and-error: start with the maximum value of 1500, then reduce the size until the problem goes away. Using one of these values is likely to solve problems caused by MTU size:

I have had lots of trouble of late with access and slow downloads, all Seems OK now sice tweaking everything with AOL one click fixes you could try that.

Stuarti see the following from Netgear help forum re: MTU note AOL 1400.
1500. The largest Ethernet packet size; it is also the default value. This is the typical setting for non-PPPoE, non-VPN connections. The default value for NETGEAR routers, adapters and switches.
1492. The size PPPoE prefers.
1472. Maximum size to use for pinging. (Bigger packets are fragmented.)
1468. The size DHCP prefers.
1460. Usable by AOL if you don't have large email attachments, etc.
1430. The size VPN and PPTP prefer.
1400. Maximum size for AOL DSL.