Connection problems

The Paddy 21:53 18 Apr 2008

Hey there,

I'm new to the forum but I am hoping someone could help me with a problem I have. I have recently lost my connection to the internet and went to get it repaired twice (Cost me a fortune :\) and it still doesn't work. I can connect the internet but only for a few minutes which is a real pain in the arse.

I took a few screen shots of my internet settings to help because I'm not a pro on computering (Still taking my ICT GSCE and hopefully soon A Levels) but I'm starting to fall behind in my work and it really is a pain.

I'm using a hp laptop (Not sure what model) Windows XP, wireless modem which is positioned downstairs in my hallway. I have another Acer Laptop which is also having the same problems and 2 other Macs which are working fine. I would compare the settings but the Macs won't let me.

Here are the screenshots (I hope they work)

[IMG]click here[/IMG]

Hopefully someone can help me. If you need more information I will be happy to look for it and see what I can do but I'm not an expert. I have some basic networking skills and pinging skills etc. but nothing too advance I'm still learning. If anyone can help I'd be extremely grateful.

Thanks.

setecio 09:30 19 Apr 2008

As you can actually connect for a few minutes, and it happens on 2 windows laptops and not on Macs, I suggest it might be a windows zero config issue with another network in range if the routers SSID is not broadcasting.

Log into the router and change it to broadcast its SSID and see if that cures it. If it does then I suggest you eventually change your wifi security to WPA, since WEP is not up to the job.

The Paddy 14:22 19 Apr 2008

I'm having trouble trying to find out where to find the SSID on BT Home hub, is there anyway you could please make a step by step guide as to how to get there or send me a link to someone who already has?

Thanks.

The Paddy 15:04 19 Apr 2008