Connecting a wireless router with broadband dialup

LynLeach 15:53 02 Feb 2009

Could anybody help me with this problem. I want to set up a wireless router so my son can use his Playstation 3 for online games. I have a broadband dial up connection and bought the Netgear DG834G Wireless ADSL-2 Modem Router.

When attempting to set this up I had to put one end of the supplied phone cable into the ADSL port on the router and the other in the microfilter attached to the phone line. To do this I had to remove the ADSL connection from the filter which is attached to the broadband modem which meant I had no internet connection. The router cannot be set up without internet access. Is there anyway around this or have I bought the wrong equipment!

I'm sorry if the above sounds a bit garbled, but I am a complete novice and would be grateful for any advice.

Lynda.

mgmcc 16:36 02 Feb 2009

>>> The router cannot be set up without internet access

A router must always be configured initially without internet access. The DG834G's setup pages can be accessed by typing 192.168.0.1 into you web browser but this opens a page within the router's settings, not online. Most of the default settings should be OK but obviously you do need to enter your broadband account "Username" and "Password".

martytoon 16:40 02 Feb 2009

Unless I've misunderstood your post, you shouldn't need to access the internet to setup the router. You will need to access the router configuration page to enter your username and password that your ISP will have provided when you first signed up with them.

1. It sounds like you've got the router connections right. You have also connected the etherney cable from your PC to the router?

2. Open your web browser (Exporer, Firefox etc). In the address bar type 192.168.0.1 which is the address for Netgear routers.