Connecting wireless router

Toni84 19:17 30 Apr 2008

Hello I'm a computer newbie and I was wondering if anyone could help me with my problem.
I live in a shared house and my friend (who lives directly below me) kindly let me connect to the internet through her phone line as she didn't have a computer at the time she didn't need the internet but she has now so she called the phone company (virgin media) and they advised her to get a wireless router so she can have internet too, the problem is I am having trouble connecting the router to my friends computer downstairs and I need to know how to over come this can anyone help get me started.

Taff™ 08:02 04 May 2008

First of all, is the connection a cable connection to the property?

If it is Virgin would have placed a small black modem, presumably in her flat which is connected to the cable. It has an RJ45 Ethernet connector, which looks slightly wider than an RJ11 normal telephone modem connector. If your friend has bought a wireless router as well this will be connected to the ethernet port.

It would be handy to know what make and model it is. Post Back with details.

If the wireless router is on, your computer needs to be wireless enabled to receive the signal. What make and model of computer do you have and is it wireless enabled?

Toni84 15:34 04 May 2008

I have the internet connection up stairs and my friend bought a wireless router which she needs to connect to her machine(downstairs)to my cable connection upstairs (without the wire preferably). I have a cable modem. So am I right in thinking that in order to help me you need to know the make and model of my friends machine and if it is wireless enabled or not. How would I find this out?

ambra4 23:16 04 May 2008

Cable Modem To Router Set-Up

Power everything off, including the Cable Modem, which must be left without power for three or four minutes