Configuring Outlook Express

bruno 13:01 07 Jul 2007

Since reinstalling XP yesterday I have been unable to configure O/E to send and receive e mails from other accounts.I have been receiving Gmail,Sky and Hotmail for years.I copied all the settings before reinstalling and put them back exactly the same as before. I have had several different error messages and they do not help me all that much.I get the feeling I have missed some vital process and am going arround in circles.Any help welcome.

humbug59 13:16 07 Jul 2007

You can slap me if you like. I'm no expert. But we've all been where you are now. All I can say is that your first suspicioun is probably correct. The details you have put in are slightly wrong. One letter out and the whole thing crashes (as you know). Can I suggest that if ANY passwords etc are doing an "auto complete" that you delete them and fill them in manually because I have known them to complete incorrectly.
Sorry and best of luck.

bruno 13:24 07 Jul 2007

I have accessed all the accounts with the details and then double checked them as I set them up in O/E.It will receive but not send at the moment.I don't what is suggested.I have set this up quite a few times over the years but never had this trouble.

brundle 13:25 07 Jul 2007

The error messages are often very useful in tracking down the cause of the problem - 0x800 etc, post a few examples.
Do you have anti-virus software which scans your email?

bruno 13:33 07 Jul 2007

Yes.I use AVG anti virus and their rootkit programme.I have zone alarm but switching it off did not cure the problem.
Message says,roughly,550 relay not permitted.Error number 0x800ccc79.I have googled it but I could not really fathom it out.

brundle 13:38 07 Jul 2007

That is usually down to incorrect SMTP settings - you must use your own ISP' SMTP server for POP3 accounts.