Computer Problems!!

Warpsword 14:27 04 Aug 2007

Hello everyone.
Im a newb here but need help with my computer.
Before i go into details ill list the spec. The computer is quite old and that may be part of the problem.

Gigabyte S775 I915g
Intel Pentium 4 530 3.0GHz HT
2x 1GB DDR PC3200 400MHz
Nvidia Geforce 7600GT
Western Digital WD1600JD 160GB
NEC ND-3500 Double Layer Dual 16x DVD R/RW
Samsung TS-H352A 16x48 DVD-ROM
Windows Media Center 2005

Ok here is the problem. The PC crashes!!
It will boot up and work fine for 15 - 20 mins but then it will just freeze, caps light doesnt do anything when pressing caps lock so i know its a propper lock up.

Here is the interesting thing. When i go into the bios and increase the voltage to the CPU, VGA Card and the RAM it works ok without crashing, but when the voltage has been increased, the frame rate in games is extremely low, NFS Carbon is practically unplayable. Also when running using the higher voltages it seems to take ages for any programs to load. Windows Media Player can sometimes take up to 10mins!!

I have tried everyhing to resolve the issue, including seeing what happens when the voltage is increased to only one or two of the components. I have tried all possible combinations but unless all three have the voltages increased, it will crash after 15 mins

I hope someone has any ideas regarding this

Cheers
Tom

X™ 14:32 04 Aug 2007

Either that or your CPU is getting over loaded, and with you increasing the voltages it is useable.

I think that you need extra cooling though. You say it's pretty old, it's a good single core PC. During the time you've had it, the CPU or motherboard cooler may have broken down.

Open up the case and check it.

Or within the 15-20mins download a temperature display software click here and tell us the results.

If it is this then you will need a new CPU cooler. We can help you here too.

Totally-braindead 14:35 04 Aug 2007