Cleaning Flat screen CRT monitors

Visio 13:48 04 Nov 2006

I have recently bought a second hand Iiyama vision master pro 452 and recently while cleaning the screen with a cleaning cloth specially designed for that purpose it has left marks on the screen. I here these monitors have a anti glare coating and once damaged thats it. Is there any way of removing the coating since i expect these cloth wipes have damaged the coating now.

spuds 14:28 04 Nov 2006

Probably not the answer, but worth a look click here

spuds 14:32 04 Nov 2006

Whoops, faulty link, try click here

Visio 08:52 05 Nov 2006

Well thanks for that but it hasn't solved the problem of streaks though. Any more suggestions???

dogbreath1 09:25 05 Nov 2006

The truth is that I now use any proprietary spray (fine mist) window cleaner!! Very light coating wiped off with a soft cloth. I've been doing this on 4 monitors for many months with great results.

Must change the curtains though! ;-)

martd77 09:43 05 Nov 2006

i was always of the opinion that only a micro fibre cloth with a little bit of water should be used as on tv lcd screens.
There are many proprietary cleaners and wipes but i stick to the micro cloth

johndrew 13:07 05 Nov 2006

There was a post on these forums on this subject some months back - unfortunately I can`t find it now. But it refered to various cleaning agents, some of which appeared a bit dodgy.

I use monitor wipes which can be purchased in most decent PC stores. They come in tubs of about 70 - 100 cost about £6 and are of two types one for glass the other for laptops/TFT screens. You can use the laptop/TFT on glass but NOT the other way round.

These wipes do a good job of removing streaks which generally are residue from other cleaning products, but equally may be permanent damage from the wrong product.