clean out hard drive

carnoustiejim 12:48 18 Jan 2010

hi my h/d is 80gb of which was 78gb full done a cleclean out of programs, downloads etc now 73gb fullhow do i find out whats clogging machine up and uninstall them
i have another drive with 143gb free
can you advise me what to do thanks for help kirriejim

o/s wxp home

User-1229748 13:05 18 Jan 2010

you could delete all but your most recent restore points from disk cleaner

canarieslover 13:20 18 Jan 2010

Move Documents onto the other drive. Right click on Documents folder, select Properties, alter drive letter on destination folder and Apply. Do the same with Pictures & Music. It takes quite a while to complete the move, depending on how much data you have in the folders, but afterwards any program that saves to these folders will automatically save the data onto the other drive.

carnoustiejim 13:22 18 Jan 2010

hi smackheadz thanks but im a newbie can you explain what to do kirriejim

OTT_B 13:49 18 Jan 2010

Worth having a look in Add / Remove programmes to see if unused applications are around.

Go to control panel - add remove programmes. Let the list populate (may take a while) and see if there's anything that can be removed.

Too see how much stuff you have in My Documents, open the My Documents window, select all files and folders, right click and select properties. Give the system a while to count up the files and size (it may appear to stall from time to time, so be patient). That should give an indication if your personal files are clogging up your system.

michaelw 14:24 18 Jan 2010

You could also d/load Ccleaner and run it to clear out loads of unused files etc click here

GaT7 16:02 18 Jan 2010

Freeing up more space:

Disk Cleanup click here - look under 'Remove Restore Points'

You can also delete the contents of the C:\WINDOWS\SoftwareDistribution\Download folder. Last time I checked there was ~1Gb in there.