Charges for site maintenance

slightlymad 17:40 20 Feb 2006

I was recently asked to re-vamp a website that looked very dated. It took me the best part of a weekend, but I made only a nominal charge as I'm an amateur and I enjoyed the learning experience.

Now, however, site owner is making frequent requests for tweaks that admittedly take me a matter of moments - a spelling error here or there, for instance. At first I was glad to do it, but now I'm getting fed up.

Although I've sent her instructions on how to edit and upload the site, she prefers to ignore these as it's quicker for me to do it!

Yes, I know I've been soft and I should have set a precedent from the outset, which is the point of this post...

I've a long way to go before I can call myself a web designer, but recently I've been asked to re-design a simple website, which I'm very happy to do. (The current site for this small business was designed by a 16-year in Front Page 10 years ago, and it's looking very sad...)

I suppose that I need a scale of charges for site modifications to avoid being taken advantage of. But what if I'm asked just to change a word or two, as above - I really can't bring myself to make a charge for this. What do other designers do?!

Marie

quack 17:54 20 Feb 2006

If this is going to be a constant request set a charge either per item or a monthly fee. If as you say the changes are small, try £5 - £10 per item changed or a monthly fee of say £25. You probably wont get any business but at least it will encourage the owner of the site to follow your instructions and have a go herself. If you are going to completely redesign a site I would suggest you treat it as a new design and charge at least £75 - £100. Explain to any site owners that your time is of value and you need to be paid for it.

Forum Editor 17:56 20 Feb 2006