Changing content of website with NOF.... How?

Diemmess 22:41 05 Jul 2006

In Website matters I am an absolute beginner.

Have had a parish website foisted on me when it needs re-writing...way out of date.
The previous ‘master’ has very little spare time and has given me a list of instructions which look plausible but not sure how to apply them. DO NOT wish to let go both ends! (i.e. not destroy the old by installing the new.

Have used NetObject Infusion 8 and everything seems to work when published locally, though the learning curve was steep!

Previous man used FrontPage which looks ‘greek’ to me
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
This is what he recommended (without the names)

“The following information will allow you to access the xxxxxx website information and all the controls necessary to set up and run the site.

1) OK - First of all the website control panel. [A list of subsidiary uses possible]

You access it by going to the following website: "click here"
Username: YYY
Passowrd: ZZZZ

2) Accessing the web pages - for this you will need an FTP (file transfer protocol) programme, normally built into the web publishing software. The following needs to be set up as a web site.ftp server: click here fpt port: 21
Username: YYY
password: ZZZZ

This will give you access to all the files on the remote server at our internet service provider ABCDEF.COM. There are loads of files and directories. All our stuff is in the /www folder. When xxxxxx.org is accessed, the "index.htm" file in this folder is automatically used. Ignore the rest of the files for the moment.

I suggest for the new site all the files are placed in a new folder "/www2" and "www/index.htm" set up to point at this folder. There may be better methods but this will mean we don't lose whats there.
First things first, you can set up the new site offline and upload it only when its ready (use relative links!)