cd drive

rachel84 11:48 07 May 2006

I was wondering if anybody could tell me how long I can burn and erase a cd on a drive before I risk destroying it? I'm a sound artist doing a piece for my degree show and I want to run three laptops for about ten days in total - roughly six hours each day. If i slow down the write speed as much as possible and give them an hour break each day ( say 2 and a half hours each side) am I still running a huge risk of destroying the drives? I can rotate the computers Im using for the actual show itself but there are a few days where Im being asessed and wont be able to go into the room where they're running. Also does anybody know how expensive it is to replace a cd-drive? for my own lap top its a risk im willling to take but as im borrowing some I will need to replace anything if it breaks. All i hear is hugely expensive - but how huge exactly? Any ideas would be hugely appreciated.

Totally-braindead 12:16 07 May 2006

Regarding the price of replacement laptop drives they vary enormously between makes for example Dell click here about £100, depending on make you might get a replacement for as little as £60 perhaps. I have never run a writer like this for as long as you are considering and to be perfectly honest I have no idea how they will fair under this. Also remembering your other thread I am unsure of how hot they will get.

Hopefully someone else who knows better will advise.

Totally-braindead 12:19 07 May 2006

Looking again at the link I gave you for the Dell they are DVD writers, CD writers may be say £20 cheaper perhaps but I couldn't find a link for one.

rachel84 12:20 07 May 2006

thanks - thats not as bad as I thought - I thought it was more like €1000 to replace. I've been told by some one who works with things like this that there is a limited chance of destroying the drives so I could probably deal with that cost - buying external drives and laop top coolers might prove to be more expensive. thanks again