Cd burning problems

triflesterms 11:33 31 Oct 2003

Hi

Ive just installed a cd writer combo the first disc i burned was ok besides one track, it was skipping & missing bits throughout, also i copied a cd & got scratchy noises over some of the tracks, im new to all this so i have no idea how to prevent these 2 problems happening again.

Hope you can help.

Steve

triflesterms 11:44 31 Oct 2003

forgot to mention cd rw doesnt work in my cd player????

Thanx

kuhbler 11:45 31 Oct 2003

Might help to lower the burn speed, make sure that you are caching the original CD to disk before copying it, not "on the fly".

It is possible as well that the disc you were coping onto was not capable of burning properly at the speed you were burning.

What software are you using and what are your system specs?

MjM Hellfire 11:50 31 Oct 2003

Try copying images of the cd's you are copying to the hard-drive(HD) first, then burn from the HD the image you have just copied.

Burning images is less prone to problems as well.

As above, try burning at 4x then 8x ect to see if lower speeds are better.

triflesterms 11:56 31 Oct 2003

is caching the same as copying?
im using nero express,im not to sure how to change the speed??
Do u know why cd rw doesnt work in my cd player to?

Thanx

plsndrs3 11:59 31 Oct 2003

Some CD burners are tempermental - they simply do not like certain brands and do not recognise the CD in the drive or have issues buring. Some have even been known not to like the software being used, although this is rare. Others seem to work on anything that is used!

I had a similar problem a while ago & it was corrected simply by changing the media I was using. The strange thing is that I actually changed from a good, high street recognised product to a cheap bulk purchased product from the Internet - yet everything has been OK.