Cant do anything other than safe mode

CJ12 09:58 31 May 2008

Hi Im a novice and my 'puter is fine at the mo but my care worker has a packardbell too and she cant use it at all now it was playing up and she took it to a local small business who said it needed a new motherboard which they installed she started to usse it and it suddenly started playing up taking half an hour to start up making a lot of noise then saying it is infected with a virus... I dont know much but a bit more than she does so I took a look and tried to run her spyware stuff etc. I found none of them work anymore and she seems to have about 165 threats including a trogan ...
I tried going into safe mode and it took hours to get it started Ive spent 10hrs trying to find a way to get rid of the stuff by using my spyware removers but all that happens now is if you put it on normaly all you get after about 15minutes is just the red background with the PackardBell logo and website url cant do anything at all it takes hours to get into safe mode but then you cant do anything anyway...
Any advice would be welcome ...
I tried going online with my own puter (as now) to the packard bell forum but only one reply so far as they dont give a set up dist I dont know what needs doing ... can I use my WinXP dist to reinstall from scratch...
Can you tell me what I can do without being online as I cant get hers online so until I can get it just to work I cant really do anything other than go into safe mode then dont know what to do from there...???
Ive asked for her cables so hopefully we can get it online as I cant find a socket for BTline only my livebox...???

So as Im stuck again I came in here ...
Any ideas please...???

CJ12 10:32 31 May 2008

Hi marg7 Thank you I will try that then but have a feeling I tried that and it said restore cant be done I may be wrong so will try again later when I can spare my cables again

yplanet 11:21 31 May 2008