Can virus infect CD's????

Sabi 13:21 11 Nov 2006

Hello;

My computer has gone too slow lately. I have done every thing I could to get the speed back and couldn't!

I can’t help thinking the slow speed might have been from when I borrowed a musical CD (from a friend) to copy to a new one for myself. I did it with my computer.

I am not a computer expert and my question is; is there a possibility the CD I used was infected and now it has infected my computer??? If so how do I get that (CD) cleaned?

Many thanks

Sabi

Diemmess 13:33 11 Nov 2006

Staying with the idea of a virus infected CD.

Possible, but depends on two things
Was the borrowed CD a "home burned" CD?
Like any other files it could have been infected before it was burned.

BUT

Any virus should have been flagged as soon as you attempted to read the CD assuming you are running up to date AV software.

I think you will have to look elsewhere for the slowdown.

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 13:36 11 Nov 2006

1. Software

a) Clear out all temporay files and folders -- use Crap Cleaner click here

b) Scan for malware spyware and viruses --Free Anti Spyware :-
Adaware click here
Spybot S&D click here
Spywareblaster click here
a2 click here
Windows Defender click here
Ewido click here

Free Antivirus software
Avast4 click here
or
AVG antivirus click here

c) Clean the registry -- Free Registry cleaners :-
RegscrubXP click here
Regseeker click here
TweakNow RegCleaner 1.3.2 click here
Easycleaner click here ( Use with care, It advises you to back up the registry first, this is a good idea as it cleans rather aggressively. )