can i use internet without a phone line?

ktruffles 13:53 06 Jan 2006

I'm a nurse living in hospital accommodation, we don't have phone lines (or even tv aerials in the wall!!) and are not allowed to have them put in. I have a new philips laptop which works really well at my boyfriends and parents house using their wireless net. Is there any way i can get wireless internet where i live. I got a free vodaphone 3G connect mobile data card thing with my computer but was told at pc world its a waste of money and very expensive. please help-feeling very left out-even my nan has the internet!!Is a data card thing the only way?
thank you

Skyver 14:08 06 Jan 2006

You can sometimes use a mobile as a (slow) modem, but as you've been informed it could be very expensive (depending on your price plan and whether the supplier differentiates between voice and data communication, eg you might get 200 minutes of free voice calls per month, but no free data transfer).
If you're not with a 3g supplier then the mobile modem is your only option but it's painfully slow.

mgmcc 14:19 06 Jan 2006

A GSM dialup connection with a mobile phone is, as has been said, very slow at only 9.6kbps. However, much faster connections can be achieved using GPRS which should give you speeds comparable to landline dialup connections. GPRS connections can be used as "always on" connections (phone battery permitting) because you pay for the amount of data transferred, not for the time online.

Stuartli 14:20 06 Jan 2006

>>I'm a nurse living in hospital accommodation, we don't have phone lines (or even tv aerials in the wall!!) and are not allowed to have them put in.>>

That's absolutely disgraceful.

What happens if there's an emergency as there are no phones?

dms05 14:33 06 Jan 2006