Can I safely delete these icons? And how?

renard 23:45 04 Aug 2009

Apologies for what is probably a dumb Absolute Beginners question!

I run Windows XP. There are always a number of icons at bottom right of my screen, by the Time/Date.

I think I read somewhere that these are things running all the time which can slow down my PC.

Please can anyone advise me if it is safe to get rid of them? If so, how do I stop them being there every time I boot up?

Here's what they are:

1. Wireless Network Connection. (I access the internet by wireless.)
2. 'Local Area Connection - A Network Cable is Unplugged'.
3. 'Windows Messenger - Not Signed In'. (I don't use Windows Messenger.)
4. 'Spybot-SD Resident'
5. Adobe Photo Downloader.
6. 'Ralink Wireless LAN Card - Status Good.'
7. Volume.
8. AVG Anti-Virus.
9. Safely Remove Hardware.
10. Canon My Printer.
11. 'NVIDIA Settings'.
12. Quicktime.
13. Ad-Aware Adwatch live.
13. 'MediaFace Online Plug-in Service'. (I often use an online programme called MediaFace, but I don't know what this icon is all about - when I right click, it says it is running, but I never actually use this 'Plug-in Service' so far as I know.)

Any advice greatly appreciated, thanks.

Dragon_Heart 00:51 05 Aug 2009

If you right click just below the icons, in the blue area, you will get pop up window with "Customise Notifications"

Click on this to get hide inactive or Quick Launch icons.

OK

OTT_Buzzard 01:38 05 Aug 2009

Also worth noting that all of the icons you have listed are also on your start-up, hence they are all consuming system resource all the time that the PC is running.

If you only use some of them infrequently (say for example Messenger, Adobe Photo Downloader or Quicktime) then you can prevent them loading in the first place.

Go to the Start Menu - Run - msconfig

Select the Boot tab and deselect the relevant applications. Reboot.