call of duty 2

iqs 21:41 03 Mar 2007

XP/P4/ 2.50GHZ /1MB RAM /RADEON 9550 256 mb

Hello,I'm currently playing Call of Duty 2.The game runs with out any issues on Video Mode 800x600 and with DX9.You are able to select from various Video Modes/screen size and the version of DX.

I tried the game on the max Video Mode ,1280x1024.The movement was very jerky and slow.

I'm new to Pc games,is there a way to play the game with the max video,and still have the smooth movement of the 800x600?.

Also is 800x600 a usual setting for Pc games?.Like I said I'm new to Pc games.

I find changing it to Direct X 7 mode in the video options makes it run far better and the difference is minimal.

On my desktop at home I actually took some screen shots to compare the differences and the only thing that stood out to me was that the walls had a much more 3D texture with DX9 than DX7. Still, I would much prefere the faster framerate and a higher resolution than nicer looking walls.

The performance difference I experienced was about 20-25 fps (frames per second) with DX9, while at DX7, it frequently was maxed out at 90. That was with a Geforce 6600GT.

If you want to see what frame rate you are getting, press the ` key to open the console while in a game (that is the key to the left of '1') then type 'cgdraw_fps 1'.

STREETWORK 22:04 03 Mar 2007

This is an issue with the ATI Catylist drivers. Aslo with some sound cards.

with sound cards it may take a while for it to catch up with the graphics. You could update the sound card driver and see if this helps or look at ATI website for common problems and possible workarounds. I have the same problem with Brothers in Arms...

citadel 10:19 04 Mar 2007

9550 is only a £40 card and will struggle with a lot of games.

iqs 11:40 04 Mar 2007

Hello and many thanks for your comments.Can anyone recommended a piece of software which will test how good my card performs please.
Cheers

gudgulf 12:00 04 Mar 2007