Bypassing BIOS password

Frank-P 21:40 01 Feb 2007

I have an old ex-corporate laptop running Windows 98 which needs to be reinstalled as soemone deleted the Windows directory.

The BIOS is password protected (and I have no knowledge of the password, none of the obvious ones will work) and the boot order is set to ignore the floppy - no CD drive or USB port.

I have tried booting to C:\ then trying to run a Windows 98 boot disk from the C:\ prompt, but it won't take it.

Has anyone any ideas how I might be able to unlock the BIOS?

The machine is a Fujitsu-Siemens Lifebook (E Series), probably about 6 or 7 years old.

ed-0 21:44 01 Feb 2007

How are you going to load windows 98 if it has no cd drive?

Frank-P 21:49 01 Feb 2007

It has an external CD drive, but I need to run the boot disk to install the drivers.

ed-0 21:50 01 Feb 2007

Which model of the "E" series is it.

You see some of the " Fujitsu-Siemens Lifebook (E Series)" laptops are bang upto date and use the some of the latest Intel core 2 duo processors.

Rtus 21:52 01 Feb 2007

aparantly google thread searches Fujitsu-Siemens cant even do it have to send it off to far east for refit.expensive..

skidzy 21:53 01 Feb 2007

Hi ed-0,hope your well mate.

Frank-P:

You could try leaving the bios password blank,or try admin.

Frank-P 21:53 01 Feb 2007

It is difficult to identify the model (as marketed). There are various Product and Part numbers, between 6 and 9 digits. Bang up to date it might have been at the time, but it is a very old machine today.

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 21:54 01 Feb 2007
  Frank-P 21:56 01 Feb 2007

I've tried admin (forwards, backwards, upper, lower and alternate case!). Same for: password, fujitsu, lifebook, laptop, techie, system. Anyone else got any suggestions on passwords?

ed-0 22:00 01 Feb 2007

the E series click here

It may be best to give them a call or email them. They will give you the factory standard password for the laptop, after you register. click here

skidzy