Building pc's

mozzano 23:28 31 Jan 2007

Hello everyone a newbie here. i was wondering if amyone could advise me as to a decent book to help build my own pc? if anyone could even suggest a good spec for one that would be great too.

mozzano

Totally-braindead 23:41 31 Jan 2007

Its like asking how long is a bit of string regarding a decent spec. A decent spec for what? All round use such as word processing internet etc, or gaming, or digital photos, ot video editing etc etc.
Regarding books theres loads but which is best I'm unsure, part of the problem is things move on so quick. You'd be better seeing what your library can get you rather than buying something that would be out of date in a couple of years. Also it does cost more now to build a PC from scratch unless you've already got a load of the components.

Totally-braindead 23:43 31 Jan 2007

Should have said that although it is more expensive to build your own PC it is great fun and comes in very handy when you need to upgrade or repair it.

mozzano 23:49 31 Jan 2007

Cheers Totally, I was looking to build one for gaming, aswell as the usual stuff. I have some new components in my current pc but the board and cpu are getting a bit dated. i could probably build it without the book but was thinking i may need one for the intricate stuff.

gudgulf 23:53 31 Jan 2007

This is as good a place as any to start click here

Loads of good information and reviews of all the components.

Totally-braindead 23:54 31 Jan 2007

Try the library for a book, if you have bits why not consider a barebones unit like one of these click here and add on a graphics card and any other bits you need.
You may need a new copy of windows unless the one you have now is a full version.

mozzano 00:00 01 Feb 2007

Thanx again Totally, I am looking to get the GForce 8800 GTX card is this one of the best on the market.

Totally-braindead 00:17 01 Feb 2007