Building a new gaming computer... A little help?

Bubzor 18:23 02 Jan 2009

Hi. I've got some money to spend on a new computer and I have a spec in mind. I already have a Q6600 that I'm gonna use and with new cooling I'm going to hopefully overclock (To about 3.0-3.2ghz if possible). I also have a hard drive and a Dual Layer DVD drive already. The spec is below:

[url=click here-(x16)-DDR2-533-667-800-SATA-II-SATA-RAID-ATX]Motherboard: Abit Fatality FP-IN9[/url]
[url=click here|65%3A2|39%3A1|240%3A1318]Graphics Card: XFX GTX260 Black Edition (216 cores)[/url]
[url=click here]PSU: Xilence 600w[/url]
[url=click here-(2x1GB)-Corsair-TwinX-DDR2-XMS2-PC2-8500-(1066)-240-Pin-Non-ECC-Unbuffered-CAS-7-7-7-20 - 36.63]Memory: Corsair 2x1gb PC2-8500[/url]
[url=click here]Keyboard: Saitek Eclipse II[/url]
[url=click here]Mouse: Logitech G9[/url]

I have never built a computer before so I'm not really sure what's missing. One problem with my current computer is the noise it makes. I want a case that can keep that noise on the inside so it's basically silent. Can anyone recommend a case like that (for £50 or under if possible)?

Also, my friend who has an E8400 told me he bought a fan which wasn't any more than £30 (can't remembert the specific numbers) which cooled his processor enough for him to massively overclock it. Does anyone have a similar fan they could suggest for a similar price? Thanks!

3gboosterman 01:43 03 Jan 2009

Hello,

Just a few things to help you keep in mind when building your gaming PC.

Make sure that your motherboard supports your 1066 ram.

Have you got a big enough PC Case to house your graphics cards? some cards can be long and with a small case, you may have problems.

Its worth it to spend £70 on a nice big aluminium finished case designed with good airflow and organised interior wiring and layout.

Check out a nice CPU copper/aluminium heatsink with fan if you have not got one.