BT 8meg broadband problems

FakeMoustache 23:46 25 Jul 2006

Hello, I reciently went from 2 meg to 8 meg with BT. Since doing so, from 8pm onward each night I have frequent disconncets during which time no data is being sent. I had a ping going with google and one with my router and only the one with google was TIMED OUT. This is annoying as if im playing an online game I get disconncted from the server. Im cabled to my D-Link router. This never happened with my 2 meg. I rang BT and they said it was something that 'Just happens with 8 meg and that some users get disconnceted all day'. THis sounds like complete Bull. But as Im not an expert on internet I could argue. It doesnt make sence however that people would pay more for a worse service. Any thoughts or advice would be good.
Thanks

ArrGee 00:00 26 Jul 2006

With the information that you have given, it sounds that BT maybe right. They do not have full 8mb capability in all of their exchanges, and down-size services for short periods of time until the exchange has enough capability to serice its customers - (not my view, just what a BT engineer told me.) However, they can easily sustain a constant 2mb for subscribers to that level. I'm in the same boat as you!

However, in defence of BT, have you made sure your drivers are up-to-date?

wbiggchiefy 00:05 26 Jul 2006

this is also something that tends to happen at peak times say 5pm-11pm is peak time for BT so prob best to avoid during those hours for anything except surfin if u try to downloa anyting in tjhose time slots I reckon your b/width will be strangled

FakeMoustache 00:59 26 Jul 2006

Yeah I have the latst firmware on my router and my pc is all up to date. Wish BT would get a move on and sort it out. Even had a Cat5 cable put through the walls as I thought it was my wireless. Hmm

Graham ® 08:57 26 Jul 2006