Broadband Over the Mains

Marios 21:23 22 Nov 2005

Hi,
will anyone who knows please enlighten me on the issue? how does this work and how fast and reliable is it? eg do i need to connect it to my pc and then another adapter upstairs and so another pc will get internet access? i checked on the net but not found much.
Thanks, Marios

keewaa 21:41 22 Nov 2005

Are you talking about the limited availablitiy of BB coming in through the power lines from an ISP,

or the system of sharing BB aroung your own home using the main ring & net2plug ?

Marios 21:59 22 Nov 2005

you lost me and it shows i am a beginner in this area! what is the difference?

tamc98 22:06 22 Nov 2005

As for as I know the only place currently doing BB over Mains (National Grid) is in Australia. I seem to remember reading a story about it a while back. It was just in the testing stages then but they had managed to get up to 100meg download rates.

Not too sure on the technical side of things but I would assume it piggy-backs on the mains and is then filtered, much in the same way as an ADSL uses a standard phone line.

I could of imagined this though. It might be worth taking a look in the New Scientist archives. There may be something in there.

HTH, Tony.

Stuartli 22:08 22 Nov 2005

Are you talking about wireless connections between two systems or the method of using the house mains system and special adapters?

There is a method available for the latter. See:

click here

Stuartli 22:09 22 Nov 2005

A number of years ago Norweb conducted experiments in the North West to network computer systems via the mains - it worked but noise and no doubt other reasons proved a problem at the time.

PC Bilbo 22:32 22 Nov 2005

I think (am guessing) you may have seen the type of networking system that busses the signal around the house mains circuit. Such a system is advertised here click here