Broadband disconnection problems

veronicam 11:56 09 Jun 2008

Hi and apologies in advance for what I'm sure has been discussed before, but I'm at my wits' end!
I have BT Total broadband and upon first installing it 18 months ago, encountered intermittent disconnection problems caused by a crossed line. After persuading BT (3 wks!!!) that we had a crossed line, the problem seemed to have been resolved.

In mid-May, the same intermittent disconnection recurred, but without the crossed line (well, I can't hear any other voices on the line!). We've had both telephone and broadband engineers out - initially there was a fault on the line which was repaired, but the line not replaced and the broadband engineer checked absolutely everything and installed a new socket with built-in filter (I'm no expert at these things) but we're still having the same problems. BT promised to change the line card at our exchange, but have failed to do so.

However, and here's the interesting bit...I was wondering why the connection seemed to restore itself every time I rang BT, so I carried out a little experiment. When the connection drops, I lift the phone receiver and hit any one number on the dial. The green lights come back on on the router and the connection is restored! We've tried this with our old phone and a new one and the problem is the same.

I wanted to seek some independent advice before mentioning this to BT in case it's our own equipment doing this. I have sat watching the router for the lights to go off and the connection to drop so I can check the phone at the same time - there's noise on the line and faint, rapid high-pitched bleeps until t he connection's restored.

Sorry for such a long-winded post, but hope someone out there can shed some light (preferably a green one!) on the problem.

Many thanks in advance.

Veronica

johndrew 12:36 09 Jun 2008