Broadband connection regularly lost, no idea why

joeysdreamgarden 20:39 26 Feb 2011

Hi, I would be very grateful if anyone could please help me with a connectivity problem I have which is a complete mystery to me. For a few months now, I'll be connected to the internet (broadband provider is Pipex), then leave computer for 10 mins, come back and the connection is lost. I can only connect again if I switch machine off completely and on again - restart doesn't work. There doesn't seem to be any pattern or clue to why this is happening - our phone line seems fine and it didn't start as a result of new programs being installed. It is getting even worse in the last week or so, cutting out whilst using internet and very slow internet speed as well. Computer is Dell Dimension E520, 2GB RAM, OS is Vista Home Basic, version 6, service pack 1. Modem is external Speedtouch 330.
I hope someone can shed a bit of light on this problem, as I'm not very technically-minded.
Thanks for reading this!
Joey

Im a diddy 20:57 26 Feb 2011

this used to happen to me and the router was on its way out.replaced router and no more dropouts.not sure if this is the case with you but thought id share it.

woodchip 21:22 26 Feb 2011

Are you using a Ethernet Cable or Wireless?

STREETWORK 21:52 26 Feb 2011

If you are connecting the router directly to the PC using an ethenet cable then its more than likely down to the ethernet card drivers. Reinstall these and it may sort out the problem.

If conneting wirelessly it may be worth checking the ADSL Filters on the phone lines.

how many phones are being used, including Sky connection?...

joeysdreamgarden 01:06 27 Feb 2011

Hi, and thanks Im A Diddy, Woodchip and Streetwork for all your answers!
Im A Diddy - I don't have a router, the Speedtouch 330 is a basic ADSL USB modem, without router features... it seems to be working ok (ie it's error indication LEDs aren't telling me there's a problem). Thanks anyway for that idea.