Broadband Connection

TonyW2 09:03 02 Jun 2007

This is not urgent and is just to satisfy the curiosity of a computer illiterate.

Using Windows XP and a dial up connection I was getting along happily, until I succumbed to the blandishments of "free broadband" from Talktalk.

I have a master phone socket and an (internally house hard wired) extension socket near the PC. During set up, both sockets were fitted with (known good) microfilters and all phones disconnected.

1 The Smartax modem supplied would only work if connected directly to the master socket (via 15m ADSL cable) A borrowed SpeedTouch worked fine under all conditions. Iam told that the speedtouch has signal amplification circuitry which overcomes possible house wiring deficiencies. Is this correct?
2 Talktalk no longer supply this model, so I purchased a wireless Edimax ADSL+2 set up. (NB to others---This was an expensive solution and I now learn Speedtouch are freely available via eBay or under the Thomson brand name) This works fine.
After switching it on, it takes about 2 mins before the ADSL light goes solid and a WLAN light keeps flashing . Sometimes the ADSL will not connect at all, but I am told that this depends on the numbers trying to connect to Talktalk. Is this normal?

3 Under "Network Connections" the Speedtouch is shown under Dial-up (USB, ADSL PPP), although it is definately broadband. Why is this?

4 There are also connections shown under Dial up for Talktalk3(connexant soft56K DataFax) and under Broadband Talktalk (WAN miniport PPOE)as well as some for my former dial up provider. Should I now remove all the connections except my wireless one and is it adequate to "left click, delete"?

4 I am getting download speed of 355 and wireless connection 54Mbs with good signal strength from the extension socket. Is this OK or can I improve it?

Thanks for any response.

Jackcoms 13:04 02 Jun 2007

A lot of questions there, but I'll try to answer SOME:

1). Don't know.