BIOS flash failure

slangley 11:05 17 Jan 2006

Hello, decided to update bios on asus a7a266 mobo using asus update in win XP - bios flash failed. following failure, checked that the old bios version was still on the bios using asus update and it said it was. however, computer won't start up. when starting up it normally displays graphics card info then starts detecting HDDs, etc but now it doesn't show anything - just dead. my mobo has a boot block bios chip but manual doesn't tell how to use this function to recover from a flash failure. Anyone know how to do this? or have i fried the bios?
many thanks

Hamish 11:10 17 Jan 2006

Sorry, I have no idea but look here and also look in Google for BIOS flash Failure click here

slangley 11:29 17 Jan 2006

Thanks, have looked in google but i'm a novice and need an idoit's guide to create bootable floppys and autoexe.bat thingies. Doh!

ade.h 11:38 17 Jan 2006

I hate trying to get tech info out of the network of Asus websites; like blood from a stone. Are you sure your manual does not cover the BIOS block feature.

First step; re-flash the BIOS with the previous known good version, having first performed a hard reset via the CMOS jumper and battery.

Only if that fails can we assume that the chip is dead. In that scenario, you can get a new chip fitted. I did know of good supplier in Denmark that is very cheap. I'll search for some options later and get back to you.

ade.h 11:39 17 Jan 2006

Oh, and in case you were wondering; no, you wouldn't have to send the board to Denmark!

silliw 22:32 17 Jan 2006

was this a bios flash 1012 because I also did this some time ago and killed the ROM chip. Ended up buying a new pre flashed chip from Dr Bios off the web and this worked fine.

woodchip 22:37 17 Jan 2006