Basic questions re. wireless setup

t1g100no 12:10 09 Aug 2006

Hi all.

I have a cable modem providing internet access to my PC and a wireless network setup between a Linksys WRTG54S router and a laptop. However, I am new to networking and I am struggling to understand the setup.

Currently it is setup with an ethernet cable between modem and router, an ethernet cable between router and PC and a wireless network between router/PC/laptop.

I do not need computers to talk to each other, just to share the internet connection.

Why do I need the wireless card in my PC? Can't it be setup as a wired ethernet connection between PC and router and then wireless between router and laptop? Both PC and laptop just using router as access point to internet.

As I said I am new to this so I would be grateful if any posted answers be treated as idiot proof! :-)

Thanks

dms05 12:44 09 Aug 2006

If your Router is infact a Wireless Router then your laptop should be connecting to the Routers Wifi and not the Desktop wireless card. Are you sure your laptop isn't connecting to the wireless router (if that's what it is?

Theirs no point in setting up Internet sharing on your Desktop and your laptop accessing the Internet that way. It can go direct.

I think we need to know a lot more about exactly how your set up is configured.

mgmcc 14:23 09 Aug 2006

The desktop PC and the laptop both connect to the router and this can be either wirelessly or by ethernet cable. There should be no additional connection directly between the two computers.

You can also share Folders and/or Printers with the computers networked via the router.

ade.h 15:03 09 Aug 2006

If you are trying to employ ICS and have the desktop function as a host for your laptop in addition to being a client of the router, you'll likely end up with Windows bridging your dekstop's network adapters. If you're new to networking, that is not a road that you want to be going down.