Barebones Laptop Advice Needed

lukich79 19:23 03 Feb 2011

I am looking for a potential barebones laptop case. I am hoping to be able to keep the components from my current laptop.

I bought this machine 4 years ago click here
At the time it was marketed as a gaming desktop replacement.
I have been trawling the net for a potential case, but have found they are hard to come by.

I have experience of upgrading desktops, when it comes to laptops I am a noob and was hoping someone here could point me in the right direction.

My current state laptop, linked above has many issues related to its case:
-keyboard broken (using USB keyboard)
-Screen Hanging off
-Disk drive inoperable
-Can't turn on wireless due to broken keyboard
-Power input jack broken (jack disconnected from circuit board)

As you can see all the issues are related to the laptops case. It seems a waste to throw away all the components which in my opinion still make a decent system. I would like to keep the components particularly the graphics and hopefully CPU, wireless, RAM and even the HDD.

I have since bought a Gaming desktop, so I will be using this machine as a general use secondary system. I don't want to spend too much max budget E400.

What do you guys think?
- Is it worth even thinking of this, or should i just buy a new system
- are the components worth keeping, compared to the newer stuff
- Where can i buy a barebones laptop
- can i simply switch components in a laptop, (gpu,cpu)
- could i consider a second hand system and the move components

Thnx in advance.

ton 20:00 03 Feb 2011

Not worth the bother I would have thought.

You said you just want the machine as a"general use secondary system. I don't want to spend too much max budget E400".

I think you would be much better off buying a cheapish laptop.

northumbria61 20:21 03 Feb 2011

They are available but I would agree that "not worth the bother" - however here's a LIST of what is available to choose from. click here